Business · Media

Farewell, Examiner.com, Hello FresnoDad

Placeholder Image
I always thought I’d be the one to break up with Examiner.com.

We were together for nearly seven years, which is the equivalent of 22 years online. Approximately 134 print newspapers went out of business during that stretch, but Examiner.com kept plugging away. There were times I thought maybe there was a future for us, after all.

Alas, our on-again, off-again relationship came to a sudden and unexpected end last week, when all of us “Examiners” received a standard email telling us to stop writing. Like, immediately. After eight years, Examiner.com is closing its virtual doors. Oh, and don’t bother trying to get back in to retrieve your belongings (read: content). Everything is going away.

More than anything, that’s a little baffling. It’s one thing to break up with us via email. I’m actually okay with that part. It was a nice little outlet, but it wasn’t generating the traffic you’d think. I rarely received feedback on my stories, and I was making about 10 cents per story. (Even that might be exaggerating a bit.) Examiner.com was never a big priority for me, and both sides were okay with that.

Here’s the thing, though. I’ve worked for many other online shops and always been able to retrieve clips even years later. Never been an issue. I’m not sure why that won’t be the case at Examiner.com, but I guess it’s fine. I started the “Fresno Working Dad Examiner” site with hopes of becoming a voice for Fresno dads, but it was easy to get sidetracked and start running random press releases while chasing site clicks. Like so many Examiners, I quickly lost my way.

And that’s why, eventually, I thought I’d be the one to break up with the site. It really wasn’t meeting my needs. (“It’s not you, Examiner, it’s me.”) Eventually, I figured I’d end things and go out on my own. Instead, they beat me to the punch.

It might actually turn out to be the best for us both. Examiner.com can focus on its entertainment site (AXS.com), and I can launch the blog I’ve been thinking about for years. The blog is a work in progress, but it’s going to be big on community. I love my wife and two kids, but I don’t want to be one of those annoying Dad bloggers who shares every experience with their readers.

Instead, I’d like to share information (and yes, Opinions!) about the happenings that Dads — and families — in the Central Valley care about. And hopefully it becomes a valuable resource that you’ll want to bookmark and check out every week– or even more.

And with that, we bid adieu to the Examiner.com and usher in a new chapter. Thanks for coming along for the ride.

Leave a Reply

